Go Pitbull Forums banner

Why do people crop ears ???

228K views 67 replies 40 participants last post by  EckoMac 
#1 ·
A silly question...

I'm new to the pit bull family. Can somone advice me why people crop their dog's ear? Is it for a style? Isn't it painful? Is it done only for pitbulls?

Is it a style to cut the tail too?

#2 ·
Cropping the ears is just for looks, showing, although I have heard that sometimes cropping is recommend for certain health issues. There are other breeds that get there ears cropped such as boxers, great danes, doobee's, other bully breeds, etc. Getting the tail docked is a style also and for certain breeds is a must for the show ring, however it is a big no no for pitbulls.

As far as pain goes with cropping, I will let someone else answer that for you as my pit is not cropped, so I really don't know. I personally like the floppy ear look, but it's a personal preference. I have also heard the after care of a crop like the taping is a lot of work, so that may be one other thing to consider when thinking about cropping.

#4 ·
Cropping the ears is a personal choice. People do it for the look, showing, etc.
A pit bull is suppose to keep their tails. To me they do not look right docked. Not a standard of the breed. I believe it is also a fault if showing.
The length you want your crop is up to you. I know some people battle crop ears which are cut low to the head. To me it is to short. I have my guys medium cropped. Like alot of people on here do.
It is not really that painful when done at a young age. I think the stiches itching is the worse and annoying part to the dog. You can get post op pain med. to.

#5 ·