Go Pitbull Forums banner

Why do people crop ears ???

228K views 67 replies 40 participants last post by  EckoMac 
#1 ·
A silly question...

I'm new to the pit bull family. Can somone advice me why people crop their dog's ear? Is it for a style? Isn't it painful? Is it done only for pitbulls?

Is it a style to cut the tail too?

#41 ·
For the people saying they wouldn't do it because the after care, the vet we use said most apbt's he has cropped, don't have problems with needing tape after a crop. Two's ears were up without tape the day after. We left the original tape on for a week under the vet's suggestion, though he said it's just a precaution.

#42 ·
I agree with most of the post's here already it's really a personal preference for the owner and for look's most show dog's I've noticed have their ear's cropped Personally I prefer them not to have their ear's crop's however the long crop is one I would consider from what I was told ( PLEASE CORRECT ME IF I'M INCORRECT ) is there's the battle crop ( which is barely any ear there at all ) the short crop and the long crop.

#45 ·
Angelbaby has a really cool picture of what they all can be there are 4 styles I believe, Ill see if I can find it. My favorite is the bell crop, its not pictured but its like the show crop but bellier, lol .

found the picture!

#44 ·
I have both cropped and un cropped. Nothing wrong with cropping a dog and yes our breed has little needed after care.

This post has been deleted
#49 ·