Go Pitbull Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
1,273 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I have been kicking this idea around for a few years now and have finally decided to push through with it... Instead of saying I am going to work out more this year or quit smoking this year (will probably never happen) or whatever else... I am going to open a rescue this year for mainly bully breeds but in certain cases I will help any dog...

There is a bully rescue in the area already but they do not cover surrounding states and transport which I will do...

So here's my idea (sorry if I ramble or get confusing ideas spewing in my head): I have located about 10 acres outside of town in a remote area (close to the 10 acres we are building our house on) that already has a small house on it which will be used for office space. I have contacted several "vendors" in hopes of getting outdoor and indoor kennels, food, and other supplies donated. I am going to contact (in the next few days) some of the breeders, clubs and animal event planners in the area (300 mile radius) to put stands in their events to promote awareness of the breeds. I also want to have trainers on property and offer training services in several areas eventually but I want to start with basic training for potential adopters. I will have a contract written up with each adopters including things like all dogs are microchipped and all dogs will come back to me if found, adopter will not get dog back if I acquire it from pound due to their negligence, home inspections before placing dog, all dogs spayed and neutered before adopting them out, and a plethra of other things. I will have the property set up as a complete kennel set up with other areas separated into exercise runs.