Go Pitbull Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
a nother thing about my dog is he is very dog on dog agressive witch i dont care cuz i dont have another dog, but her will sometimes get aggitatted with my kids, and snap at them, but then the most of the time he is playing and is a cuddle bug with them. how do i get him to know that it is bad and not to do it anymore without spanking him, cus i dont hit my dog at all i just got him traind by giving out treats and such, what do i do?

·
Registered
162 Posts
dude i am not an expert and hopefully someone will jump in and give some more proper advise but when he snaps let him that its not ok correct him on the spot and then put him away for bit if you have crate put him there so that he gets that its not ok because even though snapping is not bitting it can turn into that fast, and thats with any dog not only pits. Good luck

·
Fat-Dogs-R-Us
8,760 Posts
If he's snapping being mean, put him down. If he's too excited, you may have to school him a bit. How old is he?

·
Registered
88 Posts
dude i am not an expert and hopefully someone will jump in and give some more proper advise but when he snaps let him that its not ok correct him on the spot and then put him away for bit if you have crate put him there so that he gets that its not ok because even though snapping is not bitting it can turn into that fast, and thats with any dog not only pits. Good luck
Ya just to add a little more give your dog your stop command and give the dog a chance to respond if he does it again then put him in the crate

·
Fat-Dogs-R-Us
8,760 Posts
I personally never use the crate as punishment. I want my dogs to enjoy the crate, not dread it. Dogs are not like people or kids they do not understand "time out".

·
Registered
4,164 Posts