Go Pitbull Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone, I'm new to Calgary with my 21 wk old babygirl Nikita! Anyone know of meetups or anything where I can get Nikita socialized? Thanks everyone! (ps id like to avoid the high prices places if I can cause just moved here! If it's possible!)

·
Premium Member
9,147 Posts
not sure about calgary , there arent too many of us canadians on here ;). I would aviod dogs parks and places like that. I would focus more on socializing with people then other dogs , places like the pet store walks in parks and anywhere you go that she cango take her. Another optionis maybe looking into some group classes like puppy classes and obedience type classes.

·
Premium Member
11,000 Posts
Welcome, Just like Angel said, you don't necessarily need other dogs to make your pup social. Keep in mind, these dogs do not need other dog friends and could become Aggressive towards other animals, not matter how often they are around other animals.

these link has some additional suggestions.
http://www.gopitbull.com/obedience-...ing-american-pit-bull-terrier-your-puppy.html

Post some pics of your pup when you get a chance! Love seeing new faces :)

·
English Dogge Yard
3,441 Posts
Welcome, not quite sure what your asking here in terms of specifics but socializing a pup does not equal playing with other dogs. A well socialized dog will remain confident, stable and sound under new environments.. From extreme to basic and not just confident in the normal every day to day scenarios.

The best way to socialize any hound is take them every where, explore new places together and remain confident in positive in your actions as your pup will also look for any signals you may be displaying.. For instance if someone is following you and you are uneasy, generally speaking your pup will take notice and will their actions will be a reaction of yours paired with what comes natural to them.