Go Pitbull Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been involved with the equestrian community since I was a child, owning and observing different horses over the years as training projects. I wouldn't say I am an expert on horse conformation, but as with anything over time you develop an "eye" for what you're looking for. I have always been interested in dog conformation, but perhaps gave up early on in my endeavours because to me it seemed conformation evaluations in dogs was strictly adhered to the breed standard. Standards exist for a reason, but the horse person in me views conformation as an evaluation for potential performance, soundness, and suitability in an animal for a specific line of duty. Of course a breed standard specimen in the case of our dogs would have the best chances of leading a productive working life, but how many times do we see animals that are less than desirable rewarded in the name of a flashy trend? It is quite prevalent in the horse world as well.

So my real curiosity is, to those that are the go-to's of the APBT, what do you look for when evaluating conformation in a dog? Do you look for the same characteristics for a potential Schutzhund dog as you would for agility? Or any other working sport? Or is there no difference, and simply a APBT that fits the standard has the best chances of succeeding at anything? I may have just answered my own question, but would still love to hear others insight. :)

·
Premium Member
740 Posts
just like everything else youll get opinions from 1 end of the scale to the other. even the go-to people here have a difference of opinion-some dont like just show dogs, they have to function properly and some here like show dogs and feel thats good enough

·
Registered
6,167 Posts
just wanna bump this up so I can read and comment at a later date when I don't have to get off here so quick!lol Carry on!

·
SCRATCHIN
1,104 Posts