Go Pitbull Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Banned
808 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Not trying to offend anyone here but I see posts at times about people who's dog is sick and they can't afford to take it to a vet and so I was wondering....do people really weigh the costs to own a dog or any other pet for that matter before getting one? If you can't afford what the food, vet bills, vaccinations, boarding, etc are going to cost then you are better off not getting a dog in my opinion.
Now please don't get me wrong, I know people run into hard times and so forth and that is understandable, but it is the dog that suffers in the end if care cannot be afforded and the dog has to be euthanized or given up to the shelter in some cases.

Thoughts?

Reactions: DOMN8R

·
Forum Manager
4,908 Posts
when i got my dog i was an electrician apprentice. i was able to take him into the vet for anything he needed, shots dewormed, any thing else that came up. i was able to buy him supplements and spend 120$ on food every month.
s*** happens, i lost my job. but even if i had a job, the people that i got him from wouldnt be able to find him a better home than he has now. i have no doubt in my mind about that.
do i feel bad that i cant provide for him at the moment? yes, very much so. but through thick and thin, he is my dog, my best friend, my companion. and i know he wouldnt rather be with any one else. no one could know or love Nismo more than me, i know this for a fact.

but to answer your question, yeah i do think people get dogs with out ralizing that they do cost a lot of money. craigslist, pet finder, and the HS can vouch for that. just like how a lot of people dont research the breed they get before hand.