Go Pitbull Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been feeding my sweet pitbull Lucky iams minichunks for the last 8 months, I started volunteering at my local animal rescue and asked them what they have in their food that is similar to iams minichunks... the owner of the rescue asked me why I am feeding him garbage that is actually making dogs ill...looked up iams on google and found 520 complaints about iams making their pets extremely sick and even killing some. Had to get Lucky some food last night so got him whole earth farms adult food but planning on switching to Fromm gold that my rescue sells. what is everyone's opinion of either food?

very happy Lucky didn't have any ill effects from iams....

·
Super Moderator
5,314 Posts
Hello pitbull2063 and welcome to the forum.

Finding the right food for your particular dog can be a challenge, but not difficult. Even when you find a food that's healthy it might not agree with the dog. An important thing to remember is not to make the switch of food too rapidly. Start mixing a little of the new food to his existing food till gradually he is eating just the new food. Then give it a few days to see how it goes. One of the foods I tried with one of my pups was Blue Buffalo, a decent food, but gave the dog such gas that would clear a room. LOL.

As for which foods to try, click HERE for a great comparison on the different brands of foods and what to look for in any brand.

Joe

·
Diggin' Deep
5,194 Posts
Fromm and whole earth farms are MUCH better than IAMS so that's great!!!! Honestly Fromm is overpriced though. Earthborn Hollistics and Merrick grain free is cheaper and better IMO. Instinct is also a good one.

Personally I prefer straight raw or Orijen/Acana but not everyone has these kibbles on their budgets. So get the best you can afford :) there are lots of options now days!

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·