Go Pitbull Forums banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I feed my dog purina beneful puppy food. I think my problem may be that i feed my puppy to much? any help would be apreciated? Thanx to the person that pointed that out to me on my last thread.

·
Super Moderator
4,626 Posts
Lower protein in the diet. Purina is McDonald's in the dog food world. I'm not good at finding and posting links from other threads, but there are several on appropriate diet and also a few on knuckling over if you use the search option on this forum. I'm also sure that someone will jump in and have fantastic advice for you.

·
Registered
536 Posts

·
The Yard Of Many Colors
3,420 Posts
if you dont feed raw then blue buffalo is the best :D

·
OCD Bullyologist
8,663 Posts
Yes, your pup is beginning to knuckle. You need to switch to a better quality food.

Knuckling over is caused by the following:
1) a combination of two different types or brands of dog foods - feeding (50/50)
2) the brand or type of food has been changed several times (3-4) times
3) the addition of poor quality vitamins/minerals to a diet (not from whole foods)
4) human foods in amounts enough to disrupt the calcium/phosphorus balance
5) too many calories vs the amount of free exercise they get on a daily bases
6) feeding a pet food that has minerals that are not very available to the body - crude forms
7) diets lacking vital microminerals or trace minerals
8) feeding too much of a good food
9) any or all of the above.
Poor quality diet or too much of a good food, poor footing/slick floors with no rugs, and missing trace minerals are all things that contribute to this problem. The earlier you treat the problem the better chance of correcting it. I have seen a 9 week old pup corrected in about 8 or 9 days because it was caught early. You need balance between calcium, phosphorus, vitamin d and the age - don't experiment.