Go Pitbull Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone!

I am new to this site, and looking for a little guidance on managing my naughty pit bull. I am a 25 yrs old experienced dog owner ( but not an experienced pit owner) I am a ER Nurse, I have a dog rescue organization and also own a doggy daycare in NY. I own a 2 year old yorkie mix, a 1 yr old shepherd/border collie/greyhound mix, a 9 yr old lab/beagle and my newest addition is a little pit/pit mix? His name is Miles

He was originally a foster dog, who I ended up keeping because I fell for him!!he was rescued from a junkyard in Kentucky, he was extremely emaciated and sick. I have had him since he was about 8-12 weeks old? We think hes about 7 months now. Hes around 45lbs and is pretty solid, he was neutered around 4 months, has been socialized in doggy daycare and dog parks since he arrived here. I thought I was doing everything right and being a responsible owner but I am continuing to have problems with him. He is exercised regularly, he likes to swim, does well with basic obedience and off leash walking he also attends daycare 3 times a week and plays (roughly) with all different size dogs.

Problem #1

hes becoming very protective of me. Recently I was walking him separately from the rest of our pack, when a man approached us, well my little guy flipped out. He was growling and barking and would not let the guy move any further. I corrected his behavior and put him into a sit until he calmed himself, i DID NOT allow the person to pet him or touch him but asked that he simply ignore his behavior, which worked..I was so taken back by his behavior and embarrassed. He has done this several times since then, he has been in my truck and growled and barked at people passing. There doesnt seem to be a pattern of why or who he barks at. The only common denominator is ME!!

Problem #2