Go Pitbull Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there. My name is Brittney and this is my first time in these forums and I wanted an opinion. I also apologize if this has been discussed before. I used the search feature and found a similar piece but it didn’t really cover what I am curious about in particular.

I’d like to think of myself as fairly animal savvy. Though I now work in finance, I used to work as a vet tech and also for many years at the SPCA, helping to educate the public in doggy behavior and acclimating new pets to new households etc – so my knowledge of dog breeds and dog behavior is pretty decent.

Our current household consists of two Cavalier Spaniels and four cats. Because we understand pack hierarchy, we’ve always been wise to establish ourselves as the pack “alphas” and took great care in doing our best to socialize our dogs from a young age: allowing being groomed/handled, doggy daycare and parks to adjust to being off leash around new dogs, experience near fast moving animals like the cats, near wobbly and sometimes loud toddlers (though we are childless and plan to remain so), daily exercise and stimulation, avoiding alpha-challenging games like tug of war, etc. Our worst habit is the fact we don’t take great care in making sure we enter or exit doors first, and we do let the dogs walk in front or in back (or to the side, or wherever else their noses take them on a leashed walk).

Our entire lives we’ve also been pittie advocates. As a child, I had a dog we got from a neighbor whose dad was a black lab and whose mom was a pitt/rott. Sweetest and most trustworthy dog I’ve ever known.