Go Pitbull Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
And I don't plan to, but I'm wondering how young can you realistically evaluate a pup in terms of temperament, for those that have had litters? I'm not good at evaluating a pup. So if I'm picking a puppy out and looking for one thats possibly less dominant and maybe more mellow etc, what should I look for? The older I get the more I want my dogs to be on the mellower side. Could I have a decent indication at 10 weeks old? Mine are strictly pets and agility courses so I prefer the smaller traditional types.

Planning to get another dog next year.

·
Administrator
4,835 Posts
Puppy that comes to you because curious but is not at the top of the puppy play pile. But a puppy at 10 weeks can go from extreme confidence to total pansy depending on how it's socialized along the way. A reputable breeder will pick the puppy that will fit your lifestyle best and ask you questions accordingly.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Puppy that comes to you because curious but is not at the top of the puppy play pile. But a puppy at 10 weeks can go from extreme confidence to total pansy depending on how it's socialized along the way. A reputable breeder will pick the puppy that will fit your lifestyle best and ask you questions accordingly.
Thanks.

The youngest dog I've gotten in recent times was around 6 months old. The wife is excited about getting one around 8 weeks old. She loves little puppies and wishes every dog regardless of breed would stay a puppy 😀

For me I'm happy when they are out of that destructive puppy stage

·
Administrator
5,664 Posts
Thanks.

The youngest dog I've gotten in recent times was around 6 months old. The wife is excited about getting one around 8 weeks old. She loves little puppies and wishes every dog regardless of breed would stay a puppy 😀

For me I'm happy when they are out of that destructive puppy stage