Go Pitbull Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all, this is my first post on the site and while I know there is an introdction subforum I'll take the time to introduce myself to you all. I am a college student at Temple University and my girlfriend and I decided to adopt our adorable Pitt mixx Jaxx about a month ago; he is about a year and a half and is housetrained (or so we thought). However, when jax is left alone he acts out in tandem with our tiny one eyed kitty cat chloe to wreck out apartment. I am not by any means a first time dog owner so I am aware that often times this can be as a result of a lack of excersize. For jax this is not the case; recently he even eliminated inside of the house ;( this is alarming because when we are home he is spot on in terms of going outside. We never leave him for more than an hour or two and I'm begining to think it is a separation anxiety issue. Our short term solution has been to crate jax but I hate to do that to the guy; is there anything we can do to help him feel better? I know about keeping our entrances and exits very low key and that leaving for short periods like going to get the mail help but any other suggestions would be amazing.

·
Super Moderator
11,000 Posts
My dog used to whine and start trouble alone, I stared leaving a radio on. I know it sounds weird, but it helped. Sorry I don;t know much else besides the crate. I will say if you cat is not separated from him while your gone, that maybe contributing to his behavior. He could be stressing and acting out if he can't catch it.

·
OCD Bullyologist
8,663 Posts
I leave the TV on for Kangol, but if he is making a mess while you are out you need to crate him. These dogs do have severe separation anxiety and sometimes act out. Best bet is to crate.

·
Premium Member
13,373 Posts