Go Pitbull Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
206 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is there any reason that letting your APBT "play fight" with other dogs he is familiar with is a bad idea? I mean he never gets to the point of actual aggression, tails are wagging the whole time, just having a blast. But...there is some growling/snarling and nipping at each other's faces, necks, etc...as well as pawing at each other. . .

Could allowing this be building a desire to fight in my APBT? I'm no expert in dog behavior but I can tell the difference between play and a problem.

Just need advice. I do not want to help bring out DA in my APBT...I'd like to keep that suppressed.

·
The M.F. Problem
4,878 Posts
Nay.
Could escalate real fast with NO warning. If that other dog isn't as powerful or agile, you will end up with some messed up consequences.

·
Registered
206 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
If no, how should I teach them to stop messing around? I don't want to have to put one of them on a chain, they love running around the fields together.

·
Registered
208 Posts
Nay. Pure and simple. If they are running around the fields loose and get into a fight when you arent present, you might end up with a dead dog in the field.
I had 2 females that were getting along fine, then one day one of them found a dead squirrel and started running with it in the yard. She dropped it and the other female picked it up and OMG the fight was ON. I separated them
THAT very day.

·
Registered
1,136 Posts