Go Pitbull Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Well greetings to this forum. I'm a 22yr old college student originally from Miami, FLA. I've been an APBT enthusiast for as long as I can remember but never had my own (even though I lived with two during my stay at FSU). I've had springer spaniels, shepherds, shepherd/timberwolf, and most recently an APBT/Ridgeback mix. I'm going to be back in the market for a new pooch here soon and I had some questions.

I have been accumulating massive amounts of APBT research for years in preparation of replacing the current pup and I was wondering if anyone could help me locate a/some reputable breeder(s)/bloodline(s) for my likings. I've spent hours looking through search engines with mostly bad results so I figured using a forum would be my best bet.

As far as physique goes, I'm more of a sporting dog kind of guy. I want a purely athletic, toned body. I'm really in to agility stuff, dock jumping, ball fetchers, beach splashers, etc... To be more precise, I guess I'd have to say, taller, leaner, and defined...not concerned with overall chest size and "tank-ness."

I really dislike what some breeders have done to the heads of APBTs. IMHO, should be medium-long snout, wedge forehead, muscular jaws.
This

My ultimate dream dog would be a Chocolate Brindle APBT with aforementioned body and head. Like this...

I would just like to say thanks in advance for any and all help.
(Oh and I'm still in the South East Region of the USofA)

·
Premium Member
2,377 Posts
The best advice I can give you would be to get out to as many shows and events as possible to see the dogs in person and speak to breeders and exhibitors face to face. That way you can judge for yourself what suits you and your lifestyle. Nothing beats seeing the way dogs move and getting "hands on" with them so to speak.

·
Jr MEMBER
1,309 Posts