Go Pitbull Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm sure this topic is addressed somewhere on this site, but I just haven't found it.

I'm fostering a sweet young pit bull female and she seems to like to chew on stuff. Not really destructive, but I'm gone all day, 5 days/wk. and she will attack a shoe, toy, or door frame in her frustation.

I'd like to know what I can, or should, use for her to satisfy her chewing tendencies. I've thought about the rawhide bones but know they can be dangerous. I've used a Kong filled with frozen peanut butter, and she's just not too interested in that. I'm very new to the breed....as I said, I'm just fostering this dog.

Any suggestions?
Thanks~
Calypsolady

·
Registered
40 Posts
Puppies are big on Chewing, Pitbulls especially. so its very important to catch her in the act (when you can) address her with a calm and firm "No" and then give her a chew toy or something she is allowed. when chewing on her toys give her praise and she will eventually get it. i would also suggest a crate for the day with a safe chew toy. you'll prevent mouthing and you will be potty training her all at once. i give Thor a kong with some puppy canned food and he will chew for hours. good luck with the fostering

·
Registered
76 Posts
When you are gone from home , crate her with a chew toy you approve of.
When you are at home correct her immediately if she chews anything you do not want her to and give her immediately a chew toy she can chew.

·
Registered
3,188 Posts