Go Pitbull Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Today i had my puppy ears crop,the vet told me take off the dandage tomorrow and after what am i suppose to do to have the ear stand? sorry i am a total noob

·
Registered
4,164 Posts
Your vet should be providing you with specific aftercare instructions. Was this a traditional crop with scalpel and sutures? If so, those need to be kept clean. (I have no idea what the aftercare is on a laser crop.) The sutures will need to be removed at about 14 days. You could do this yourself, but you probably already paid for suture removal with your crop, so take him in and have the vet do it and examine the ears. You'll need to keep him from scratching those ears in the meantime. Might need to buy an e-collar (aka, the cone of shame). This is just the first part of the aftercare. Afterward you get to worry about taping, gluing, massaging, etc., to get the ears to stand correctly.

·
Premium Member
9,147 Posts
I would deff have a cone on her , once they start to heal it will itch and she will try and scratch you dont want her to damage or pull stitches it can cause scaring and hinder the healing. Usually { we did laser with one of our girls} its about 10 days until the stitches come out { ask your vet he probably told you whento return for that} may be a few days more depending how they have healed. We didnt do muchyou want to obviously keep her out of the dirt and stuff. Is she on antibiotics? thats about all we had to worry about was the medication each day. As far as posting the ears to stand you dont want to do anything to them until they have healed and stitches are out , then you can take a look at how they are standing and decide if you need to tape or not. If they arent standing right in 10 days or so you can post a pic there are some good threads that go through step by step onhow to tape them available to you on here.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)