Go Pitbull Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
141 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i was told that the other pups from the litter i got my pup from had the mite that causes mange it was "mothers milk mange" my pup hasnt shown any signs of it for months and now slowly at 6 months shes losing fur and im sure that what it is ,,,,,,, so my question is is there anything i can do for her naturally w/o taking her to the vet????? just curious im new to mange so im up for any advice

the other pups have went thru skin scrapes and vet meds taking a very long time to see results

·
Registered
141 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
what no advice????

·
Premium Member
13,373 Posts
I have never really heard it called breast milk mange but Demodex mange can be hereditary. So a few questions for you and then we can give you advice on home treatments.
1. Did you get you dog for breeding purposes? (important is all the dog in the litter got it)
2. Where is the hair loss on the dog? Is the dog just shedding all over or it a spot that is bald or balding?
3. Is the hair loss in one spot or several?
4. Does the skin look dry and thickened in the spots where the hair is gone?

·
Premium Member
4,650 Posts
Yeah I have never heard this term?

·
Premium Member
13,373 Posts
It sounds like a made up term by a BYB to cover the fact the dogs have hereditary Demodex. Breast milk mange makes it sound like something that just happens vs a defect in the breeding pair. You know how inventive BYB can be! lol

·
Pits Are For Chicks
16,246 Posts
She is showing signs now because at 6 months old she is getting closer to go into heat there for is more stressed which activates an outbreak or the Demodex mites. Having her spayed will dramatically help if she has lost alot of hair. ( However she will have to be medically treated before spay.)

A weakened immune system can also make the outbreak worse.