Go Pitbull Forums banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)

I just brought home a 15wk old show-bred Pit (hair loss in pic is the product of a 5 year old autistic kid and scissors :(, it's grown back now). Although I have a lot of experience raising Pits, I have never raised an un-neutered male. I really just want to hear from people who have experience with stud dogs and if any extra training should apply as a puppy to ensure they are well-behaved and non-aggressive once full-grown? I'm not locking him into a stud career by no means but it is a possibility so I thought it would be best to seek advice at an early age. Any advice that can be given regarding the training of stud dogs will be appreciated.

He has a very laid back personality and is very sociable. I have one other spayed female pit and they get along great so far.

Advice appreciated! Thanks.

·
Premium Member
834 Posts
I'm not very clear what you are asking? What is it you are looking to train him to do? Nice looking pup, Am Bully? What's his lines?
IMO, you see what a dog ends up being before deciding he is worthy of stud. What's the hair loss from? If it's Demodex, that nixes his breeding career, or should.

·
English Dogge Yard
3,441 Posts
Can you elaborate your question? What do you mean by "raising a stud dog correctly?"

..I'll wait for your response before my answer or advice is given.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Sorry about that. The hair loss is the product of a 5 year old autistic kid and scissors haha. It's grown back now.

I really just want to hear from people who have experience with stud dogs and if any extra training should apply as a puppy to ensure they are well-behaved once full-grown? I'm not locking him into a stud career by no means but it is a possibility so I thought it would be best to seek advice at an early age. Any advice that can be given regarding the training of stud dogs will be appreciated.

·
Premium Member