Go Pitbull Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
ACCOUNT CLOSED
5,701 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I love Rotties. But I have no experience with them. But when I was probably about 8 years old I started dreaming about owning one. I've had a couple friends along the way that owned them. One that I remember was a big sweet oaf. But I really love large breeds and I really like the power they exude. As well as the protective and guarding qualities. And maybe a schultzand prospective?

So I'm looking for energy level, are they one owner dogs, coat care, feeding, kid safe, and any other general info.

Thanks!

Oh yeah and American Rott vs German Rott is there a difference or is this just byb lingo?

·
Premium Member
889 Posts
I owned one growing up. Never had any temperment problems, DA was there, a simple brushing with a wire brush a few times a week took care of any shedding problem, i have 2 younger siblings and we all grew up with her. she was very good with all of us. I never researched the breed so all I can tell you is from what I experienced.

She was a great dog.

·
Premium Member
5,074 Posts
I petsit for alot of Rotties. One of them being over 100lbs and he is a big baby.

Maybe it's the lives they live but I think Zoe (my apbt) requires ALOT more exercise then they do. Always friendly but very stand offish about strangers until they get to know you. I think feeding them is the same as any dog. Food and amount depend on what the dog is doing. I have watch 11 Rotties in my home and they all have been wonderful with my kids. Maybe not for small kids seeing as the dogs could step on them or knock them over.

We are thinking of getting a rottie for our next dog. Just because I want something to protect the house and my other dogs when their outside. Plus I just love big goofy dogs. From my understanding they can be all around great dogs if raised right!

·
Registered
679 Posts