Go Pitbull Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, one of the main reasons I've joined this forum is to see if anyone has any ideas about my pitties fear of the 'outside'. I'll give you a bit of background first.

Chance has been with my bf since he was a pup, very well trained and socialized, used to go to day care, grew up around other rescue dogs (bf had a housemate who fostered). However he was always difficult to walk, a mega puller with no inclination to even remember you're there once you're outside.

When I moved in with bf, I moved from the UK to Canada so had no history with the dog (and he is my first dog), but I knew I wasn't standing for that sort of behaviours as it made him almost impossible to walk, and I felt strongly about him being walked more often. So I started training, and 9 months on we have made a huge amount of progress. I started out switching his harness for a gentle leader type collar (it was a canny collar) which was great, mainly because it gave me more control, and helped my confidence, but it was never something I wanted to use long term.

After a lot of trial and error, I found the best thing was a wide leather collar and short leash. Walking is now ok, not perfect, but we have periods of loose leash and we're still working on it.

However now that he is a little calmer in the leash, it is possible to see that the cause of the problem is fear. He often has his tail tucked right under his body, any time we stop he will start to shake, he will not greet anyone when he's out (and this is a guy who is a cuddle monster at home), and he will not take food or water while out.

Other than persevering and exposure, does anyone have any tips for dealing with fear of the outside, he wants to go for walks, and gets excited as soon as he hears me pick up the leash, so I can't understand the reaction once he is out. I'm sure that if we could get past the fear, he would be a much happier walker.