Go Pitbull Dog Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been feeding my 6/mo pit the same food for the last 3 months ( Orijen puppy) and its doing wonders for his overall health, but I heard somewhere that switching your dogs food every once in a while is a good just to change it up a little bit. Does it matter if I switch to a different kind of food and if so when or how often do I change it up a bit?

Cheers.

·
yea, i'm that guy
2,445 Posts
IMO.. if he's doing good on it.. dont change it..

·
Premium Member
13,373 Posts
There is some speculation that changing the dogs food can help them not develop food allergies. But it is just that speculation not hard fact. Switching diets often can cause a picky eater or an upset tummy. One thing you can do is if you feed a chicken based food from orijen and you want to switch to the lamb then that is fine but do not do it too often. (that is just an example) People who switch brands all the time can cause a tummy upset or pickyness. (lol I think I just made that word up) I have fed the same food for over 10 years to my kennel and they have done great with no food allergies. Now there is a possibility of a dog developing food allergies at a later time but I would not blame the food.

This is one of those things that you will hear opinions on both sides. It's up to you to take that info and decide what is best for you and the dog. ;)

·
Registered
57 Posts