Go Pitbull Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi. I am new to pitbulls. I recently took home a 7 week old pit and the dad was "razor edge" and the mom was "white rhino" UKC pitbull. He was all black pick of the litter the biggest one out of 10 puppies. The day after I took him home I noticed his tail was curled above his back all day. When he is resting or sleeping its down, but most of the day curled. I read on google that means he could be mixed? The breeder I bough him from said it means he is alert and focused, and will go away. I wanted you opinions. This is a big deal because I paid a lot for him because I needed a big pitbull. We live high in the mountians of colorado and mountian lions are a huge threat. My neighbor has a ukc pitbull that is 120lbs and killed a lion last month that got into their garage. We bought this pup to be a spoiled family dog and go on 10 mile runs with my wife and take care of himself if he has to. I am not saying I got him to fight lions, but they are all over up here.

·
h2o APBTs
842 Posts
Well.. Let's start with the tail. At his age (puppies should stay with the litter until 8-10 weeks, btw), it is common to have a gay tail that will eventually go away. BUT- there's a good chance it will stay, too! This can happen in purebred APBT with high tail sets.

Now, with your pup being from Razors' Edge (RE) lines, there is a very high probability he is mixed anyway. The papers on a dog are only as good and as trustworthy as his breeder, and many untrustworthy breeders use RE as a selling point. 120 lb dogs are in no way, shape, or form purebred American Pit Bull Terriers. They should weigh no more than 70 lbs for a large male. There are slight variations, of course, but trust and believe there were some hung papers (falsified documents) in that 120 lb dogs' history.