Go Pitbull Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

· Premium Member
13,448 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Siren is learning sent articles for utility for and we just started a few days ago. I will have to find a video of a dog doing it, it is going to be a lot of work but in the end worth it. I really want to get a UT title on her. If anyone is working on Obed titles and wants to learn let me know and I will type out the steps. This is my first time doing it so I cannot trouble shoot the info I am getting if from a trainer friend if mine who has several OTCH's. (AKC Obed ch)

· Premium Member
11,110 Posts
Sorry, can you explain what Utility is? or should I just google, lol.

· Premium Member
13,448 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Utility is the highest level of Obedience in AKC and UKC. It goes Novice, Open, and Utility. Sent articles is just one exercises and basically your dog has to find your sent ut of several articles. What you do is you have several leather and metal dumbbells in a pile then you sent one of each article then give them to the judge. Your back is to the judge and they place it in the pile and you dog must fine the one you scented and bring it back.

Here is a video I found that shows the finished product.

A Doberman showing in Utility obedience class. This video shows the scent discrimination exercise, where the dog must pick a dumbbell with the handler's scent from a group of dumbbells and retrieve it.
This Doberman is the #2 ranking Doberman in the US for Obedience, and she is also a top therapy dog along with several other Dobermans in her family.

Here is a great video of a golden doing the routine. There are parts missing from the video but you get the point.

· Premium Member
13,448 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Can you teach us retrieving ? I think that's a part of utility right ? Or is it open?