Go Pitbull Dog Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A friend of mine asked me a question today about rescuing APBT's from shelters or rescue groups that I can't answer. I'm new to the breed my self as far as owning 1, and I know they have changed a lot since I was a kid. I was raised with a pit that was my Grandmothers. But Until I got mine recently I haven't been around them. And I know the breed has changed a lot since the 70's.

Any way he has come to like my Amber and wants to get a APBT of his own, and wants to rescue 1 but isn't sure if it is a good idea. Reason being is you hear of all the BYB (back yard breeders) dogs ending up at the pound or rescues.

And a lot of the info you read about pits says not to buy from BYB's because of genetics and such. I guess he doesn't want a dog that's going to be prone to hip dysplasia or any other bad traits. Any thoughts on what to tell him is greatly appreciated! :)

·
Pits Are For Chicks
16,246 Posts
You can get perfectly fine dogs from the shelter and dogs with temperament or health issues from breeders. Many purebred and very nice dogs end up in shelters. It can go either way for a dog regardless of being from a breeder or shelter.

If your friend wants a pet then look into a shelter and see if something fits. If they want a competition dog look into a breeder. If they don't feel comfortable with with a shelter dog find a good breeder and wait for them to have a litter with pet quality dogs.

Reactions: Patch-O-Pits

·
Dare to dance the tide
12,401 Posts
Your friend should look at Pit Rescues. The dogs that end up in those shelters are more likely to be temperment tested, the dogs are already spayed/neutered and have their shots.

If your friend really wanted a APBT he should join here and start learning about the breed.

·
Silver VIP Member
2,261 Posts
BYB, and rescue, 2 good topics.