Go Pitbull Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Proud CGC Parent
1,782 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
(This is from another all-dog training forum.)

I'm new to dog guardianship, and I'm also new to dogsintraining. I was hoping someone could help me and my partner with a few suggestions as to what we should try with our dog.
We've had Zak, a 5 year old Staffy, for almost six months now. He was my mother's dog until she gave him to me as she couldn't care for him any more.

Zak is a handsome, cheeky, playful and cuddly boy, but we've had a few problems with him. Zak is sometimes aggressive towards other dogs.

Here's a few scenarios:
Scenario 1:
Zak is playing fetch happily with me in the park. Out of nowhere, a small staffy cross runs straight at us, and they 'square up'. I can't see the owner anywhere so I ask Zak to come away. He doesn't respond. Other dog's owner turns up. A fight breaks out - of the 'snappy snappy snarl with teeth' variety. It happened so fast that I couldn't see who 'started' it. I try to grab Zak's collar to no avail, and the other owner STARTS KICKING MY DOG IN THE FACE.
I'm screaming at the guy to stop kicking my dog and get his dog off mine. Eventually we separate them. I tell him he's a dickhead, he says I need to keep my 'vicious dog' under control, we go our separate ways.

Scenario 2: