Go Pitbull Dog Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just out of curriousity, at what age does the head stop growing? My pup is 15mo old currently and still has a alot of loose skin around his face. Ive heard alot of people calling it "poping" when their hed fully grows into their skin (maybe a byb term, idonno just something i heard before), is this true?

·
Registered
546 Posts
I have never heard of any of this...but I think proper exercise and nutrition could influence it to a certain extent along with genetics. Poor breeding could also cause it....I'm no expert though.

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I have never heard of any of this...but I think proper exercise and nutrition could influence it to a certain extent along with genetics. Poor breeding could also cause it....I'm no expert though.
Not sure what you mean? i wasnt talking like ALOT of of skin like a nasty poorly done bully. I meant just like around his jaw muscles you can grabe some skin, if you look at him he has no rolls or anything like that, he is in pretty good shape!

I was just asking becasue alot of people say that when they "pop" most off any loose skin is gone and it is tight around their head. I know they fully matured body wise around 2yrs old, but i didnt know if that also went for their head size as well.

·
Banned
3,721 Posts
Some dogs have more loose than others depending on their genetics. My dog has a 23 inch head last time I checked and he is not a even two years old yet. I read a publication on growth plate closings at different bones finish out growing at different periods in the dog's development. Certain aspects will affect the rate of growth such as breed, sex and if the dog is intact or not.

·
Premium Member
379 Posts
"Popping" Is a Bully term. Big bone, lot's of head, still growing are all terms used in the bully world. Loose skin may never fill out with whatever has been crossed into your particular bully.

·